12 C
Saturday, July 2, 2022

Judging Panel Announced for the Surface Design Awards 2019

The Surface Design Awards celebrate progressive design and the use of innovative surfaces for both interior and exterior projects in the built environment.


Surface Design Awards
The Surface Design Awards previous winner, The Broad


The Awards attract high interest from international architects and designers. In 2018, 90 projects were received from 16 countries including China, Portugal, Spain and Italy. 39 entries were located in the UK with 69 per cent of these in London.


The 2018 Supreme Award was won by the Museum of Art, Architecture and Technology (MAAT) in Lisbon, design by AL_A. The design builds upon Portugal’s rich tradition of craft and ceramics; almost 15,000 three-dimensional crackle glazed tiles articulate the façade and produce a complex surface that gives mutable readings of water, light and shadow.


The Broad in Los Angeles by Arup and Diller Scofidio + Renfo in collaboration with Gensler won the Supreme Award the previous year due to its interior ‘honeycomb’ effect ceiling surface which visually envelopes the structure and provides light filtration, allowing controlled natural light into the galleries.


2019 presents a refreshed judging panel, all who are highly qualified to be judging the latest surface material applications. The panel of 8 industry experts work in two teams selecting a shortlist and winner for each category. They then join forces to pick the Supreme Winner, the best of the best.


Surface Design Awards
Collage (L > R) Co-chair: Christophe Egret, Studio Egret West, Cany Ash, Ash Sakula Architects, Roz Barr, Roz Barr Architects, James Soane, Project Orange, Co-chair: Paul Priestman, Priestman Goode, Paul Edwards, Airbus, Katie Greenyer, Pentland Brands and Jeremy Offer, Arrival.


The 2019 judging panel consists of: Co-chair: Christophe Egret, Studio Egret West, Co-chair: Paul Priestman, Priestman Goode; Paul Edwards, Airbus; Katie Greenyer, Pentland Brands; Jeremy Offer, Arrival; Cany Ash, Ash Sakula Architects; Roz Barr, Roz Barr Architects and James Soane, Project Orange.


The Surface Design Awards are a chance for architects, designers and suppliers to showcase their use of surface design whether its application is for aesthetical, practical or sustainable purposes. Entries are open from early July until late September 2018.



Related Articles

Stay Connected

  • – Subscribe –

Latest Articles

%d bloggers like this: